Civil Infrastructure Durability

ASCC researchers awarded Best Paper for work on 3D printed highway culverts by the Society of Plastics Engineers

Dr. Sunil Bhandari Bhan, Dr. Roberto Lopez-Anido, James Anderson, and Alexander Mann have been awarded Best Paper at ANTEC21 by the Society of Plastics Engineers Additive Manufacturing/3D Printing Chapter. Their paper,  “Large-Scale Extrusion-Based 3D Printing for Highway Culvert Rehabilitation” explores the use of large-scale 3D printed thermoplastic polymer composite materials in place of fiberglass reinforced thermosetting […]

Read more

Hampden bridge event celebrates UMaine’s groundbreaking research in sustainable, low-cost transportation solutions 

Hampden, Maine — U.S. Sen. Susan Collins joined Maine Department of Transportation officials, University of Maine researchers, Advanced Infrastructure Technologies (AIT) Bridges and industry partners at the Grist Mill Bridge in Hampden, Maine today to celebrate the groundbreaking research that is leading the country toward a sustainable, low-cost transportation system of the future. The 75-foot […]

Read more

Aaraon Schnack with Habib Dagher

Schanck named a University Transportation Center Outstanding Student of the Year

Bangor resident one of 34 nationwide recognized by U.S. DOT ORONO, Maine — Andrew Schanck of Bangor, a Ph.D. student in civil engineering at the University of Maine, was recognized with an Outstanding Student of the Year award by the U.S. Department of Transportation for his exceptional research efforts with the Transportation Infrastructure Durability Center […]

Read more

Dr. Habib J. Dagher Recognized as 2019 Transportation Champion by the Maine Better Transportation Association

Dr. Habib Dagher, Executive Director of the University of Maine Advanced Structures and Composites Center (UMaine Composites Center), was recognized as the 2019 Transportation Champion by the Maine Better Transportation Association (MBTA) during an award ceremony on Friday, October 4th in Freeport, Maine. The MBTA is the largest transportation organization in the state with 700 members.  The […]

Read more